Castle of Nea Peramos

Nea Peramos (Greek: Νέα Πέραμος), is a town located 17 kilometres from Kavala, the capital of the regional unit of Kavala, Greece. Its population at the 2011 census was 3,532.

Since 1998, according to the Law of Kapodistrias, seven villages (Nea Peramos, Nea Iraklitsa, Agios Andreas, Eleftheres, Elaiochori, Myrtofyto, Folea) joined in a new municipality which was called Municipality of Eleftheres. The central administration authority resided in Nea Peramos, which is the largest of the villages listed above. The first Mayor of the Community of Eleftheres was Iraklis Karaberidis. At the 2011 Kallikratis reform, the municipality of Eleftheres became part of the new municipality of Pangaio.

Due to its situation the village Nea Peramos is a good starting point for excursions to the island of Thasos which is 1 hour from Nea Peramos by ferry, to the city of Kavala and also to ancient Philippi, which is about 30 km away. There are many destinations worth visiting along the coastal road, with idyllic bays and beaches which are quiet even during the main holiday season. If the weather is clear, the view reaches from the Thasos island up to the mountains of Athos at the peninsula of Chalkidiki.